Mustangs Receive 14 All-Conference Selections, Sweep Special Awards

Mustangs Receive 14 All-Conference Selections, Sweep Special Awards


ANNVILLE, Pa. - Led by Commonwealth Conference Player of the Year, junior Chris Dashiell (Salisbury, Md./Parkside), Rookie of the Year, freshman Dimitri Pecunes (Baltimore, Md./Calvert Hall) and Coach of the Year Paul Cantabene, 14 players from the fourth-ranked Stevenson men's lacrosse team were named to the All-Commonwealth Conference teams on Monday.

The Mustangs (15-2, 8-0 MAC) received eight first team selections, including all three defensive positions, as well as four second team selections and two honorable mention honorees.

Dashiell is the second Mustang to be selected as a conference player of the year, joining Jimmy Dailey was named the 2011 CAC Player of the Year.

A three-time Commonwealth Conference Player of the Week selection this season, Dashiell was also named to the first team and leads the league in assists with 43 while ranking 15th in Division III in assists per game at 2.53. He is also second in the conference with 67 points.

Pecunes is the third Mustang to be named as a conference Rookie of the Year after junior Ryan Rubenstein (Sykesville, Md./Boys' Latin) and Jimmy Dailey were named CAC Rookie of the Year in 2011 and 2007, respectively.

Pecunes was also an All-Commonwealth Conference honorable mention selection and ranks third in the league in both goals against average (7.08) and saves percentage (.592). He is 11-1 as a starter in his first collegiate season and was named Commonwealth Conference Defender of the Week twice on April 1 and April 8.

Cantabene earns his first coach of the year award after Stevenson finished undefeated in conference play for the third time in the last five seasons. The team outscored its opponents 148-31 in eight conference contests this season, including 84-18 at home. Cantabene is currently 130-37 in nine seasons as a college head coach.

Joining Dashiell on the first team were seniors Peter Green (Hereford, Md./Herford) and Parker Bratton (Baltimore, Md./McDonogh School), junior Kyle Holechek (Reisterstown, Md./Loyola Blakefield), sophomores Billy Burgoyne (Boonton Township, N.J./Mountain Lakes), Callum Robinson (Perth, Australia/Sacred Heart) and Connor Curro (Lutherville, Md./St. Paul's) as well as freshman Brent Hiken (Pikesville, Md./Pikesville).

The Mustangs' second team selections included Rubenstein, senior Nick Rossi (Lutherville, Md./Towson) and sophomores Pat Candon (Long Beach, N.Y./Holy Trinity) and Mark Pannenton (Niskayuna, N.Y./Niskayuna).

Sophomore Sam Wyatt (Brentwood, Tenn./Human Services) rounded out Stevenson's all-conference selections, joining Pecunes as an honorable mention honoree.

The Mustangs begin their quest for their first Commonwealth Conference championship on Wednesday when they host Lebanon Valley in the semifinals at Mustang Stadium beginning at 7:00 p.m.