Mustangs Named Team of the Year by Touchdown Club of Annapolis

Mustangs Named Team of the Year by Touchdown Club of Annapolis

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - After a record-setting season that culminated in the school's first-ever national championship, the Stevenson men's lacrosse team has been selected to receive the Henry Ciccarone Memorial Award by the Touchdown Club of Annapolis as the organization's Collegiate Team of the Year.

"For the past 40 years or so, the Touchdown Club has chosen one college lacrosse team in Maryland to receive this award," said President Justin Mullen. "There was no debate this year as Stevenson's outstanding 2013 season that culminated in the school's first Division III national championship clearly stood out above the rest."

The Mustangs finished with a school-record 22 wins this season after defeating RIT 16-14 in the national championship game on May 26 at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia. The team also went unbeaten in its first season in the Commonwealth Conference en route winning the conference championship and boasted 11 All-Americans.

Stevenson will be formally presented the Henry Ciccarone Memorial Award at the annual Touchdown Club of Annapolis Lacrosse Cookout and Awards Ceremony on Saturday, June 15 at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium prior to the Chesapeake Bayhawks' home game versus the Denver Outlaws at 7:00 p.m.

The Touchdown Club of Annapolis event will be located in the Class of '53 Pavilion and begin at 5:00 p.m.

The Mustangs will then be recognized on the field at halftime of the Bayhawks' game that evening where all coaches and players in attendance will go ont he field for the recognition which will be done over the public address system and videoboard.

Stevenson currently has two former players on the Bayhawks' roster in Mike Simon '09 and Jimmy Dailey '11.

In addition, head coach Paul Cantabene played five seasons for the Bayhawks from 2001-05 and still holds the team record for ground balls (510), penalties (43), penalty minutes (39.0), faceoff wins (958) and faceoff attempts (1,742). He won three MLL championships in 2002, 2004 and 2005, was a five-time All-Star, two-time All-MLL selection and 2002 recipient of the SoBe Iron Lizard award.

Henry A. "Chic" Ciccarone was the head men's lacrosse coach Johns Hopkins from 1975-83, totaling a 105-16 record and winning three consecutive national championships in 19978, 1979 and 1980. He was inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1987.

Tickets for Saturday's game between Chesapeake and Denver can be purchased by calling 866-99-HAWKS or by clicking here.