Thelen Tabbed ECAC Offensive Player of the Year, Three Named All-ECAC

Thelen Tabbed ECAC Offensive Player of the Year, Three Named All-ECAC

DANBURY, Conn. – Junior JT Thelen of the Stevenson University men's lacrosse team was named the ECAC Offensive Player of the Year Wednesday morning.  A total of three Mustangs were named to the All-ECAC Team.

Thelen and senior Harrison Faecher were selected to the First Team, while sophomore Justin Burnette was named to the Second Team.

Thelen, who has already been named the MAC Commonwealth Offensive Player of the Year, ranks among the national leaders offensively.  In 19 games, Thelen totaled 70 goals and 29 assists for 99 points, the second-highest single-season point total in program history.  He sits No. 11 in Division III in goals per game and No. 13 in points per game, while his 16 man-up goals are second nationally.  Thelen scored in all but one game this season and registered multiple goals in 15 games.

Faecher was a First Team midfield selection and a MAC Commonwealth First Team All-Conference choice.  He totaled 30 goals and 20 assists for 50 points appearing in all 19 games after posting seven goals and four assists over his first three seasons.  Faecher also picked up 33 ground balls this season and recorded multiple goals in 10 contests.

Burnette established himself as one of the nation's top faceoff specialists in 2018, winning 71% (320-451) of draws, good for No. 4 nationally.  He also picked up 180 ground balls and recorded four goals and two assists.  He also ranks No. 8 nationally in ground balls per game and helped the Mustangs currently rank No. 3 in faceoff winning percentage as a team.

Stevenson made its 10th straight NCAA appearance after winning its sixth consecutive MAC Commonwealth championship in 2018.