Shorts Named To All-ECAC First Team

Shorts Named To All-ECAC First Team

DANBURY, Conn. - Stevenson men's volleyball junior Landon Shorts was selected to the All-ECAC First Team on Thursday morning as announced by the conference office.

Shorts helped to lead the Mustangs to capture the inaugural Middle Atlantic Conference championship on April 14 with a 3-0 win over the Knights of Arcadia University and the Green and White second birth in the NCAA Division III Men's Volleyball Tournament in the last three seasons.  Their season was unfortunately cut short on April 21 when they suffered a 3-1 hard fought loss to No. 3 Stevens Institute of Technology in the quarter-finals of the NCAA Tournament.   

On the year he recorded team-highs in kills (313) and service aces (93).  Shorts also added 219 digs to go along with 43 blocks while posting a .293 attack percentage which was good for third on the squad.  He led the nation in aces per set at .869.  In Middle Atlantic Conference rankings he was second in total digs behind teammate Derek Tangorra who totaled 252, third in digs per set at 2.05, and fourth in kills per set (2.93).

With being only a junior this season Shorts will be relied heavily upon next year as a senior to get the Mustangs to repeat as MAC Champions and return back to the NCAA Tournament in 2019.       

ECAC Division III Men's Volleyball Major Awards and All-ECAC Selections

Offensive Player of the Year
Sergio Figueroa Velez – Springfield College, Sr.
Defensive Player of the Year
Eli Irizarry Pares – Springfield College, Jr.
Rookie of the Year
Alec Helford – Hunter College, Fr.
Coach of the Year
Charlie Sullivan, Springfield College 
All-ECAC First Team
Ian Capp – Kean University, So.
Alex Li – New York University, So.
Mike Neary – Springfield College, Jr.
Sergio Figueroa Velez – Springfield College, Sr.
Eli Irizarry Pares – Springfield College, Jr.
Kyle Biggers – St. Joseph's College-Long Island, So.
Landon Shorts – Stevenson University, Jr.
All-ECAC Honorable Mention 
Stephen Roach – Baruch College, Sr.
Quinn Peterson – Juniata College, Jr.
Blake Hogan – Hunter College, Jr.
Joe Muir – Hunter College, Sr.
Shayron Taylor – Kean University, Sr.
Jared Warner – Kean University, Sr.
Neil Ferraro – New York University, So.
Corey Pieper – Rutgers University-Newark, Sr.
Joseth Irizarry Feliciano – Springfield College, Sr.
Kyle Jausta – Springfield College, Jr.